Fluffy Coconut Muffins

20130101-130258.jpg

Last night we went to my moms house for New Years Eve which became a great excuse to bake up some special little treats to ring in the new year. I wanted something quick and easy so this Martha Stewart Recipe was perfect since I already had all the ingredients at home. I started out by fluffing up the egg whites and slowly added in the condensed milk and once combined, folded in the coconut. My mixture was all wrong. It was liquid with no substance to hold it together. I’ve never made macaroons before so I went ahead and put dollops of batter on my cookie sheet. Fail. They came out of the oven looking like a deflated cookie gram. I’m not into wasting food so I added a cup of cornstarch to the mixture to try and fluff it up. This still didn’t work so I decided to line some muffin tins with pink polka dot liners and added the batter 3/4 of the way. I didn’t have a recipe to work off so I kept them in the oven at 350 for about 30 minutes or until they looked brown and slightly crispy. I took these baby’s out of the oven and hesitantly took a bite and to my surprise they were delightful! The outside was perfectly crispy but once you take a bite the moist inside is so perfectly light and airy. I gave one to Tony and he loved them as well! Success! Give these guys a try…I’m sure you’ll be pleasantly surprised and make sure to bring a copy of the recipe with you! Believe me, people will want to make these tasty little treats themselves.

20130101-130448.jpg

Ingredients

2 large egg whites
Pinch of salt
1 can sweetened condensed milk
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 bag shredded sweetened coconut (200g)
1 cup cornstarch

Directions

Heat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, whisk egg whites and salt until frothy, about 2 minutes. Stir in condensed milk and vanilla. Using a rubber spatula, fold in coconut until well combined. Fold in 1 cup cornstarch just until well combined.

Line muffin tins with nonstick liners. If liners are not non stick use an any stick spray such as Pam and fill up 3/4 of the way

Put them in the oven until muffins are golden brown, about 30 minutes. Let cool completely. Store in an airtight container for up to a week.

Leave a Reply

